New
Find
Notify
Tools

300WSM Loading question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have a Winchester Featherweight 300WSM on the way. It has become clear due to the die selection for reloading this cartridge that perhaps just a 2 die set might not be the way to go.. Since I'm new to this cartridge but not reloading, I'm looking to the more experianced hands here who have delt with the 300WSM on which way to go and why...

Thanks Guy's

MopaneMike

Posts: 1110 | Location: Southern California USA | Registered: 21 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
I've been using a 2 die set for years with mine. No problems at all.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12501 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Mike, I have 3 300 WSM's and use a seperate standard sizing die for each, one RCBS, 2 Forsters, and use a Redding micrometer seating die for all 3.

No issues at all.

Posts: 3563 | Location: GA, USA | Registered: 02 August 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've loaded for two different 300 wsm's w/ a two die set of RCBS 300 wsm dies. The only problem I've had is with making sure my f/l resizing die was screwed down tight enough that the bolt would close on a resized and reloaded round.
GWB

Posts: 23752 | Location: Pearland, Tx,, USA | Registered: 10 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm probably in the minority, but I use the Redding Competition die set with the bushing neck die and competition seater. I only full-length size after several firings.

We Band of 45-70er's

Posts: 178 | Location: Pearland, TX | Registered: 15 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I use Redding two die set.