New
Find
Notify
Tools

Confused, please help!!
 Login/Join

<heavy varmint>
posted
After several years of hunting and shooting I have found that the 7-08 is the caliber that suites my needs best, the one I reach for in just about any situation, so now that I have settled on a caliber of choice I've been giving serious thought to having a rifle that best suites my needs built in this caliber.

Here is were I really need help, I know that I want a short action, a quality fiberglass stock, a No.4 contour barrel capable of half MOA accuracy with 140 gr.bullets and topped off with a good 3x9x40 preferably with a 100 and 300 yard dot.

Since I have no experience with anything other than factory I am VERY unsure of the best way to get this rifle built.

I do have a Win. M.70 Classic SA I am willing to donate to the project and though I am not trying to get off cheap from what I have seen I can have Pac-Nor to true and barrel my action, buy and install the stock myself for about half the price of other options. As of this time using a smith in my area is not an option but I am trying to get some credible references.

I have searched the net and looked at just about every barrel maker and custom rifle builders site there is (alot of options) and am only more confused as to what to do so decided to ask for help from some of you that have been here to help point me in the right direcion.

Any help is very much appreciated.

<Daryl Elder>
posted
Wow! That Win70 Classic SA with a Pac-Nor sounds near perfect for your 7/08 project! Have you considered a laminated stock?

one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
It sounds like a good start to me! PacNor does good woek on the bbl. action. You can install any scope/mount combo you like & there are many "drop-in" fiberglass stocks available. If the rifle doesn't shhot to your liking, then look for a gunsmith to glassbed the action to your fiberglass stoc (you can also do this w/ a bit of patience).
Good luck!