New
Find
Notify
Tools

Barnes bullet performance
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
First off, I am not a bullet expert. However, I was asked to post pics of bullet failures with Barnes (I was using the Barnes TSX vortex bullet). My hunt was in 2011.

After a few emails to Barnes, they acknowledged that I did indeed have failures.

Unfortunately, I was unable to find all the pics. However, I did find one and will continue to search through my archives.

In the pic, it's hard to see the ballistic tip. However, a ballistic tip was the bullet I was using.

Now, in Barnes defense, some of the bullets worked perfectly. The pic I'll ask one of you to post, exploded on impact. Fortunately, I was able to recover the animal (eland).

A few other bullets, had little to no expansion.

Barnes said I received a bad lot of bullets. I hope this was the case. They are a Utah company, and I'm glad to see them succeed. I have no problem with any of you posting more positive experiences!!

If someone will send me their email, I'll send you the pic to post.

Posts: 2638 | Location: Utah | Registered: 23 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rub Line
posted Hide Post
What bullet caliber and weight?

I had a .243 TTSX blow apart on a whitetail deer two years ago. The deer died and everything but the bullet fragmented on impact. I never posted on the internet about it (until now), never contacted Barnes, but it forced me to use different bullets in the .243.

Barnes are still my go to bullet for 30-06 and .338.

-----------------------------------------------------

Do not answer a fool according to his folly, or you yourself will be just like him. Proverbs 26-4

National Rifle Association Life Member

Posts: 1992 | Location: WI | Registered: 28 September 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Mike_Dettorre
posted Hide Post
I have used barnes TSXs exclusively for the past 6 years - elk, deer, pigs, and brown bear.

Probably 25 plus animals - not a single failure or lost animal.