New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sako 85 vs Sako 75
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have no experience with Sako rifles whatsoever.

The Sako 85 is a nice looking rifle and I have heard a lot of good things about Sako's accuracy and quality, etc.

What would be the advantage of the Sako 85 over the 75 in a .338 WM, if any?

Posts: 119 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 25 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I think the biggest change in the new 85 was they redid the design of the stock, along with some other minor changes. I would hold both the 75 and 85 and see which fits you better. Other than that sakos are about as good as it gets in a production rifle. I have 4 of them and have been very pleased.

Posts: 548 | Location: n.e.Mn | Registered: 14 October 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of GA DEER HUNTER
posted Hide Post
I have a 75 and it fits me perfectly. I have not tried an 85, but the Sako 75 is an excellent rifle.

Posts: 392 | Location: Atlanta, Georgia | Registered: 05 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Toadhead, I have a bunch of both. The 85 has a unique recoil management system, it is not a lug like on a typical rifle, not even like the removable lug on the 75. The 85 has a square 'pin' of sorts, that fits into a pocket in the stock.

Both rifle's systems work well, my main Sako smith like's the 85's system better, but only on the Grey Wolf and wooden stocked versions. The reason for this is that on the Finnlite and Stainless Synthetic versions of the 85, the recoil 'pocket' is aluminum, and it is his opinion (mine also) that over time this pocket will wear, which may or may not alter the rifle's accuracy.

The stock on the 85 is very different than the 75, it is straighter, slimmer, and has no palm swell. I like features of both stocks, but the 85 stock does seem to handle recoil better, that might be a consideration in the 338.