THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BACKPACK HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Backpack Hunting    Best light weight mountain rifle sling

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best light weight mountain rifle sling
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of JBrown
posted
I’m interested to hear who is making the best light weight sling suitable for a mountain hunting rifle. I normally wrap up in a hasty sling and I don’t think I’ve ever used a loop sling the “correct way” on game.

I’ve been using a cheap Uncle Mike’s sling for 20+ years, moving it to whatever rifle I’m using that day. It has worked fine but it is looking a bit tattered.

Heck, while we’re at it maybe you guys can fill me in on the best sling swivels too.

Jason

"You're not hard-core, unless you live hard-core."

Hunting in Africa is an adventure. The number of variables involved preclude the possibility of a perfect hunt. Some problems will arise. How you decide to handle them will determine how much you enjoy your hunt.

Just tell yourself, "it's all part of the adventure." Remember, if Robert Ruark had gotten upset every time problems with Harry
Selby's flat bed truck delayed the safari, Horn of the Hunter would have read like an indictment of Selby. But Ruark rolled with the punches, poured some gin, and enjoyed the adventure.

-Jason Brown

Posts: 6834 | Location: Nome, Alaska(formerly SW Wyoming) | Registered: 22 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Montana Gun Sling. They're made in Glasgow MT. A little heavier than a simple nylon web sling, but I like the stiffness of leather better when shooting slinged up. Not expensive and will last a lifetime or two.

Otherwise, for ultralight, a simple 1.25" nylon web sling, no pad, no frills, just a sling.

Jeremy

Posts: 1480 | Location: Indiana | Registered: 28 January 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of DesertRam