Any 9mm Luger Reloaders here?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of DannoBoone
posted
What is the cleanest as well as accurate powder for the 9mm
105-115gr copper bullets? I've been reloading for 50+ years,
but this is new to me. For what I've been reading, Alliant
Power Pistol looks good, but I have no experience with it.

Has anyone attempted to use Rem 6 1/2 primers in their 9mm
cases? I picked up a carton years ago thinking they were 7 1/2,
duh. Certainly cannot be used in the .204R or Tac20!!

Our independence is dying.

Posts: 565 | Location: Walker, IA, USA | Registered: 03 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Don't know what the cleanest is but I loaded 10's of thousands of rounds with red dot.

I used every brand of small pistol primers out there.

I notice not difference between them.

Posts: 19349 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by DannoBoone:

You can use them in lower pressure small rifle applications, ie., Hornet pressures. Ken Waters used them in .222. I'd even use them in a .223 bolt gun (reduced loads) if I had one.

Many open bolt subgun shooters prefer small rifle primers for their 9mm loads. I find it good to cut back on charge slightly. Start with a 0.5 grain reduction (thereabouts) and chrono. Like you, picked up Rem 6.5s on closeout and they are destined for 9x19. If Glock strikers don't set them off, will feed them to omnivore Uzis.

Friend likes Accurate #5 for cleanliness, I use 231......well that's what I have. Like p dog shooter, have used RD.

Posts: 670 | Location: Dover-Foxcroft, ME | Registered: 25 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Alliant has cleaned up their powders some. For 9mm I like Unique, Red Dot, Bullseye, HP-38 (WW231 same stuff) WW Auto Comp. All are fine With the real fast powders you'll notice a real quick slide snap back, whereas the slower powders don't snap it back as fast.