THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Fireforming 22-250 AI (40degree) with bullets. How to?

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fireforming 22-250 AI (40degree) with bullets. How to?
 Login/Join

<mnmark>
posted
Hello all,
I'm new to this Ackley fireforming procedure and would like any information regarding how to fireform with bullets, do not want to use Cream of Wheat. Some specific questions I have are:

1) I'd assume you full-length size the cases using the standard 22-250 die, or do you use the Ackley F.L. sizing die?

2) Do you trim the cases before fireforming or afterwards? (I'd assume after, seeing the cases do appear to shorten.)

3) I've read that you use a starting load (from standard 22-250 data) of faster burning powder such as IMR 4895 (around 30.0 grains) according to Nosler #4 manual and set the bullets well into the lands?

4) Also heard that some people use a light coat of oil on the cases when fireforming, is this recomended?

Rifle is a Rem. 700

Any other info. you can provide would be great. Thanks in advance.

-mnmark

[This message has been edited by mnmark (edited 06-25-2001).]

<Don G>
posted
Mark,

I think you've got it right. Just remember that loading with the bullet jammed into the lands raises the pressure significantly.

30 grains of IMR4895 is about right for a 50-55 grain bullet.

Trim after firing, size prior to loading only if the case mouths are bent or you have a very small chamber. (Won't hurt to size, just extra work on the brass.)

Don't chamber a round unless you're ready to fire. The bullet can stick in the lands if you try to extract a loaded round.

Don

<mnmark>
posted
thanks for the quick reply Don.

Also note that I added a 4th question to my post.

Picture of Bakes
posted Hide Post
Mark
This is what I do for my 22-250 AI.