Find
Notify
Tools

Sudden over-pressure situation
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Kyler Hamann
posted
I’m stumped on this one so maybe someone has some ideas that I’ve missed.

I’ve been reloading for over 35 years, for about 30 different cartridges, and two of my very experienced reloading friends have been trying to help me solve this problem, but we’re running out of ideas.

The rifle is a long range model of Savage FCP in .300 Win. Mag (second factory barrel). Last year I worked up a load that shoots very well in this Savage and a Cooper XLR. With this load both rifles have shot groups around 2.5" at 500 yards so I am really happy with the accuracy. The load uses a Barnes 168 gr. bullet, Norma brass, Fed. 215GM primers and IMR 4350 powder. The charge is a bit above the middle of the Barnes recommended range. Not super-fast, but the velocity SD was under 10 fps and the accuracy was so good that I’ve stuck with it. I settled on .050” off the lands for seating depth.

But a few weeks ago this load I’ve been shooting since last year started showing serious pressure signs in the Savage. The bolt has been hard to lift, the case heads have expanded too much on some of the brass (after just one firing), primer pockets have been loose (again after just one firing), the primers have been flattened and cratered and in a few cases the spent primer has come out of the case. The most bizarre thing is that these exact loads were safe to use last year – up until a few weeks ago.

NOTHING has changed in the load. The loads use the same batch of new Norma brass, same keg of powder, same box of primers, and same batch of bullets. And the same loads still shoot great with no pressure signs in the Cooper.

The bullets aren't crimped and cases are in the correct length range.

Ammo has been kept out of the sun for testing sessions and temperatures were typically 80 degrees or under when the pressure signs were the worst.