New
Find
Notify
Tools

Nosler lead free bullets
 Login/Join

posted
Hello
I am a 50+ years reloader and have run into a strange problem. 270 win. in a savage 110 action, glass bedded and free floated. re-scoped and wanted to sight in. Started with sierra130 grain with 59 gr. H4831 SC fine tuned to a little less than an inch. switched to lead free nosler.130. about 4.5 inches scattered. regroup different loads still over 4. switched to Barnes 130 same load group to <inch. back to nosler 3 to 4 " is this normal? anyone else shoot nosler lead free?

Administrator
posted Hide Post
I have no experience of these bullets, but, I have no idea why they are making these?

Powdered copper inside instead of lead??

Crazy idea.

The worst accuracy I have ever had from bullets was from Winchesters Black Talon.

They were absolutely awful!

It looks like someone who has nothing better to do is dreaming up silly ideas on bullets.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 66881 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Has these bullets been tested in hunting conditions?

For now I will stick to lead core bullets of a good quality like Nosler, Hornady and Sierra. You need the mushroom to have a proper kill.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I understand that there is such a thing as lead poisoning - but I don't understand the hysteria that some lawmakers, do-gooder groups and some hunters have succumbed. If a well constructed bonded lead core bullet is fired into the chest of a game animal it will retain about 95% of its weight. So of the 130 gr 270 bullet that would mean that about 6 grains of lead is lost into the tissue, the preponderance of the tissue being blood shot lungs and will be left at the kill site- some states require the gut pile to be either buried or removed- removing further the 6 grains of lead.