Find
Notify
Tools

RCBS Rockchucker
 Login/Join

<MagnumDoug>
posted
Hello,

I am new to reloading. I just started using the RCBS Rockchucker to reload 44 Special/Magnum. I have already reloaded a few batches of rounds, and everything has gone without a hitch except one thing. I cannot get the automatic primer feed on the press to work. For those of you who are familiar with this press, the problem seems to be the alignment of the bracket that holds the primer tube with the primer arm. This arm holds the sleeve and post which actually presses the primer into the case.

Every time you swing the arm over to the feed tube, it is supposed to pick up another primer. This is where the operation fails. The primers do indeed slide down the feed tube, but they do not fall into the sleeve on the primer arm. They invariably wind up cocked slightly, so they do not sit inside the sleeve.

I have been using the press by manually inserting a primer into the sleeve of the primer arm each time, but it bugs me that the feed system doesn't work. I've called RCBS, but they don't have an answer. This particular facet of the press seems to be "Mickey Mouse", which surprises me because everything else works just fine.

Am I missing some nuance in assembling the feed system? Or have you experienced the same shortcoming and gone to a different method of seating primers? I would appreciate hearing thoughts on this from other Rockchucker users.

Doug

<Hip's Ax>
posted
I don't have the RCBS, but I have the Lyman with the same system. I only tried to use it once, and then I picked up the phone and ordered a Hornady hand priming tool. Now I watch TV and prime cases, much better.

------------------
-Hip's Ax
"Where the Hell did that 8 come from!!??"

<rudyr>
posted