THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Excess headspace on a .257 AI, factory ammo, and reloading

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Excess headspace on a .257 AI, factory ammo, and reloading
 Login/Join

Picture of skinnyskis
posted
I'm new to reloading, and I've got a dilemma.

I inherited a beautiful - but well loved - custom made .257 Roberts Ackley improved on a Mauser action, and with it came 30 reloaded rounds made in the mid 1970s (?) as well as about 150 spitzer type bullets pressed specifically for this rifle. The reloaded rounds are AI made from various brass - some Remington .257 Roberts "UMC", some stamped "L C 53", and others with different markings. Many of them are pretty corroded, but I shot some of the cleaner ones and they survived, though some cracked at the neck - brittle? I have no idea how many times they were previously reloaded.

I thought I'd make myself some new brass so I could get started and bought some Remington Core Lokt .257 Roberts to fire form. About half of them shot - nice and accurate, no signs of trouble at least to my untrained eye. But....the other half, the firing pin dents the primer and they don't fire. This has happened from more than one box, so I don't think it's the ammo. A local says excess headspace.

The dilemma then is how am I going to fire form brass to reload if I can't get them to go bang?! Maybe I'm overlooking something real simple?