New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hitting target sideways... HELP!!!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Ok. I am new to reloading. A friend is helping me. He is loading for me till I get mine set up.
It's for. Ruger M77 in 7x57. We loaded up some northfork 174. Speed is about 2450-2500. The bullets are hitting the targets sideways at 100 yards. What are we doing wrong??

It shoots the 175 round nose federal just fine.
Another question. Nosler loaded me up 50 of 175 grain partitions..same speed, they do just fine but the bolt is tough to push down once it cycles forward. The federal RN 175 is no problem on the feed.

Keep the Pointy end away from you
www.jerryfisk.com

One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
You aren't doing anything wrong. Your bullets are too long for the twist. Round nose bullets are shorter.
As for the Nosler, if the bolt is hard to close, your bullets are hitting the rifling. Assuming that your brass is sized enough to fit the chamber. If not, it is the brass shoulder hitting.
Now, Noslers are even longer. Maybe the Northforks are too small.

Posts: 17103 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
8 1/ twist. Then why does the federal 175 cycle ok and group well while the northfork doesn't? No marks on the nosler brass.

www.jerryfisk.com

One of Us
Picture of Snellstrom
posted Hide Post
Jerry
Try chambering one of the Nosler loads completely, then extract it and examine it. Are there rifling marks on the bullet? Are there any marks on the brass? If no color the whole case and bullet with a felt pen and try again.
If yes on the bullet then they need to be seated deeper, if marks on brass then you are not sizing brass enough.
The Northfork is probably a longer bullet and not stabilizing. The only fix is to drive it a lot faster and that isn't going to happen....
So you asked about fixing Steak and I'm going to tell you Pork Chops.