Find
Notify
Tools

CH4D or RCBS
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of tanks
posted
I need to get dies for hand loading 500 NE.

I have been looking at CH4D dies someone had mentioned, I do like the fact that crimping is separate than seating.

I have no experience with them. Are they worth the investment?

Edit: I had used the search feature but most of the negative issues were 10+ years ago and dealt more with customer service than the dies themselves. Any change?

Posts: 1083 | Location: Southern CA | Registered: 01 January 2014Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of buckeyeshooter
posted Hide Post
Good quality product. I have them in 50 Alaskan and 35 Remington. Never a problem.

Posts: 5697 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 02 April 2003Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
I've used both -

the issue is TIME - if ch4d has them on hand, go for it. if not, it's likely to take WAY longer than one might expect -

rcbs is 220 on midway, right this second ---

However!! Hornday is 110!!
https://www.midwayusa.com/prod...011077269?pid=917199

#dumptrump

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 38458 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
try ordering one a their presses and see how many birthdays pass b4 u get it!

Posts: 1532 | Location: south of austin texas | Registered: 25 November 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Like others have said, CH4D is OK if the item is in stock. Waiting for them to produce something is quite another story. Then there's the quality issue. Sometimes steps like polishing get missed. They still work but finish can be an issue.

Posts: 117 | Location: Idaho | Registered: 12 November 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post