Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

6.5x55 swedish
 Login/Join

posted
I’m new to reloading but have reloaded 6.5x55 successfully before. Now the brass after sizing with hornady dies won’t chamber in my Swedish Mauser but does chamber before sizing. I’ve tried turning the brass and sizing a few times but still doesn’t chamber.Has anyone had this problem before? Any suggestions?

one of us
posted Hide Post
Your sizing die is moving some part of the case to where it shouldn't be. Try screwing the die in until it contacts the shell holder in the up position. Lower the ram and then turn the die in another 1/8th to 1/4 turn and try that. Also measure your brass length. Sizing will stretch and lengthen brass and it is possible the brass needs to be trimmed.

Pancho
LTC, USA, RET

"Participating in a gun buy-back program because you think that criminals have too many guns is like having yourself castrated because you think your neighbors have too many kids." Clint Eastwood

Give me Liberty or give me Corona.

Posts: 930 | Location: Roswell, NM | Registered: 02 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It might be the decapping pin (neck size)button who pulls a little on the way up through the neck.

Posts: 3611 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 02 May 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Nordic2:
It might be the decapping pin (neck size)button who pulls a little on the way up through the neck.