New
Find
Notify
Tools

If you had it all to do again...
 Login/Join

Picture of Joshb
posted
Hello, everyone out there. I'm new to the group, but an old soul. I haven't reloaded this century, did back in high school, but am finally building my first home. (Sold the one we've lived in for a decade with 1 bathroom and 5 kids plus me and the misses).
I have only ever reloaded shotgun shells, and on a friend's bench. My new home will have a reloading room amongst other things ( a garage for my 68 GTO, 3.5 bathrooms, and other rooms I could care less about).
I'd love to get heavily into reloading, and as I make 3 day a week visits to the range, have been saving lots of brass for some time. (I've got a 5gal bucket of mostly barnes 300wm brass alone.)
I have a good deal worked up to buy a hornady lock n load progressive press and am a mechanic by trade so I'm not afraid of the multiple moving components and taking some quality time with my digital calipers. My question: those of you with loads of experience, trial and error, etc if you had only that press and a really good set of calipers but no dies, trimmers, blocks, books, and an empty room, how would YOU fill the voids?
Sorry about the long intro, looking forward to getting to know you and appreciate your wisdom.

Posts: 10 | Location: West Texas again | Registered: 24 October 2017Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Start with a single stage press and dies for one cartridge that you shoot a lot.

Get some hand prep tools for trimming and chamfering.

Get a good balance scale.

Get at least 3 good manuals.

Get a chronograph.

Once you can make ammo that shoots as well as factory, you can start experimenting with new items that speed things up...like case cleaners, oal gauges, stuff to anneal with, and start working with more than one cartridge (more die sets).

At that point you can start to worry about a progressive press.

Somewhere after that you will need another room....