Find
Notify
Tools

Blue Dot Notes.... Cooler Barrels!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Blue Dot Notes : COOLER Barrels!

Recently I have been testing several other powders for reduced loads for varminting in the 223.

Some of the powders tested have been

SR 4759
Unique
Tite Group
700 X
800 X
SR 4756

Even with all the above powders usually having a less charge at max, that Blue Dot,
An important thing I have noted,( being a varmint shooter … translating into high volume shooting in short periods of time ).. is that ALL the above powders STILL heat up the rifle’s barrel at a much quicker rate that Blue Dot does.

Another important thing is that, I have also noted, that these powders also take much longer for a barrel, (once heated ) to cool down!

Not being a chemist, I don’t know what they are putting in Blue Dot to also make it burn evidently much cooler than other powders.

The above powders are once again, being tested to stretch out the shooter’s budget.
But I thought it was highly important to note that Blue Dot is seeming to burn much cooler.. and in a varmint rifle for high volume shooting, this is a very important feature!

beer

cheers
seafire
BOOM

Posts: 16144 | Location: Southern Oregon USA | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am inerested in trying this powder out. Love my .221 Fireball on the prairie dogs and it looks like I can duplicate my .221 load with Blue Dot and 40gr V-Max's in a .223 Remington. I Just purchased 5lbs for $66 and have a couple thousand Remington 7 1/2primers.

I have three .223's I can start on. What about barrel length? It seems from what I have read that a shorter barrel won't hurt my velocity and might even help some. I have one barrel that needs a recrown and have thought about cuting it back to 22" or even 20".

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Chris

Posts: 212 | Location: Iowa | Registered: 15 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post