Find
Notify
Tools

Big variance in bullets - base to ogive
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Nakihunter
posted

I have been reloading for almost 25 years.

This 7mm08 rifle Kimber Montana shoots very well with most loads.

I decided to do some detailed measurements with the Hornady Comparator tool and found this huge variation.

I am really interested to hearing from anyone else who might have done such a study.

How do target bullets measure up? Are they more consistent?

"When the wind stops....start rowing. When the wind starts, get the sail up quick."

Posts: 11006 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 02 July 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
I did this once too; the results were like yours; seemed like not all that uniform. I ignored it because there is nothing you can do about it. I guess it must not matter.
I didn't measure any match bullets. Maybe I should; I have some 30 cal match 168 grainers.

Posts: 17103 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have not done such a comparison myself but am interested to know if this batch of bullets shoots as accurately as the previous batch.
With some bullet brands ( e.g Hornady, possibly others ) I have found batch to batch ogive variation in the calibres I load for. Whenever I start a new batch of the same bullet I always check cartridge length and often find a little adjustment of the seating die necessary to get COAL just right. With a couple of new batches of the same bullet ( .243 and .270 IIRC ) my loads also had to be slightly reworked to regain the accuracy I wanted.
Mostly now I shoot Barnes bullets for several calibres. Besides easily making accurate handloads I think they are very good at maintaining batch to batch consistency. I still use and like Hornady bullets as well but always remember they can vary.

Hunting.... it's not everything, it's the only thing.