New
Find
Notify
Tools

Solid rec for 500J?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I acquired an AHR 500J earlier this year and am looking to work up a load for elephant. The rifle was regulated for Norma 570 gr Woodleighs.

Components are hard to come by (surprise, surprise) but I have been able to grab some and bought some Corbon loaded 535 gr FN solids (Barnes, I think) in Jamison brass. My rifle likes them just fine, but I'm losing about 25-33% of the brass on the first shot. Splitting vertically in the lower half of the case. If I can manage to retain enough brass, I was thinking of moving up to a larger solid.

Options so far for reloading (will target ~2200 fps):
- Woodleigh Hydro 570 gr
- Barnes banded FN solid 570 gr
- CEB safari solid 510 gr OR 570 gr
- Heard good things about NF and GSC, but can't find any

Want a true solid and not FMJ since I'm going after elephant. I'm pretty new to reloading and this will be my first DG hunt. Would appreciate any thoughts on solid bullets. Bonus points for any favorite load data.

Thanks in advance

Posts: 103 | Location: Texas | Registered: 08 January 2021Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of eagle27
posted Hide Post
Surprised to hear of the high attrition rate of your Jamison brass. What are you meaning by "lower half of the case", shoulder neck area or more towards the case head?
Shoulder neck area splits can be prevented by annealing the cases in this area before firing even if it means dismantling the ammo before use, decapping the primers as well, annealing the shoulder neck area and then reassembling the cartridges using the same components pulled from the ammo. I would even use the same primers that were decapped however if you felt 'safer', especially on an elephant hunt, use new primers.

If splitting the case walls towards the case head area then that is final as far as those cases are concerned but does raise the question of chamber out of spec (oversize) or cases too much out of spec.