New
Find
Notify
Tools

Powder Efficiency
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have a 30-06 with an 18.5 inch barrel. I shoot 180gr ballistic tips. The question is, what is the most efficient and consistent powder to use with this combo? I presently use I.M.R.4350 with pretty good results. I think that there must be a lot of unburned powder because of the horrible muzzle blast. It wouldn't bother me to leave it alone, but I do want to use the rig to it's max ability and efficiency for that barrel length. Any help out there? Thanks

Posts: 627 | Location: Niceville, Florida | Registered: 12 April 2001Reply With Quote
<Don G>
posted
I have no experience loading for a 30-06 with a barrel that short, but I ran some QuickLoad models.

Your IMR4350 is running about 95% burnt, so the muzzle blast is very believable. QL says that Accurate Arms XMR4350 will give you about the same velocity with 99.9% burnt. It will be a 5% compressed load, so you'd likely need a drop tube.

IMR4895 is also 99.9% burnt, but will drop your velocity about 60 fps, and the case will be about 96% full. This is a very traditional, low-risk answer to your situation.

I would try the XMR4350. See http://www.accuratearms.com/rdata4.html#anchor649799

The ballistic tip holds together fairly well at 2700 fps, but I would still not advise it for elk, except in broadside shots. It is devastating on deer and pigs.

Good luck,
Don

<1LoneWolf>
posted
Maybe, IMR 4895. If I am thinking right on that, a buddy chopped a PSS in 308 and the muzzle blast was considerable. With a short barrel like that you will obviously get more muzzle blast, but I think his fix was 4895. Though the muzzle blast always stayed relatively high.

------------------
Live Free! Madison, Jefferson and all the boys paid for it, and so did our very own fathers.

one of us
posted Hide Post