New
Find
Notify
Tools

45 brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I going to begin loading some handgun ammo; Specifically 45 ACP for now.
I have been loading and reloading rifle and shotgun shells for approaching 50 yrs. I know how to do it.
What I do not know anything about is this Starline brass that seems very available. It is a couple bucks less than Remington fodder.
What is the scoop on it?
I am not going to be shooting for competition but will likely load +P pressures.
Your thoughts on Starline quality?

EZ

Posts: 3256 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 January 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
45ACP is easy and last a long time I have not noticed much difference in any brand.

Starline is good stuff.

I do not sort my pistol brass by maker for practice loads.

Posts: 19314 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of model7LSS
posted Hide Post
I like starline brass a great deal. I don't see the sense in separating either. However, be aware that there are cases with small pistol primers instead of large. I am not sure what the reasoning was, but I think it was something to do with non toxic shot or something. I simply throw the small ones away when I get them.

Auburn University BS '09, DVM '17

Posts: 603 | Location: Selma, AL | Registered: 16 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Starline brass is very good stuff; at least all I use is, sometimes thicker and last longer.
Yes, brass sorting among 45 ACP brands is like sorting out the most virtuous whore.

Posts: 17046 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by dlcd:[ . . . ]Yes, brass sorting among 45 ACP brands is like sorting out the most virtuous whore.
LMAO.

Posts: 939 | Location: Grants Pass, OR | Registered: 24 September 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't even bother looking for brass anywhere else anymore.