New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best way to tumble rifle brass?
 Login/Join

posted
Hi Gang,
Finally getting to reload rifle calibers, .556 specifically.
I put fistfuls of .556 brass into my dry media tumbler, and that is one pain in the neck to get the media out of the case. Not doing that again.

Looking at ultrasonic cleaners, stainless steel media, etc.

What do you recommend, and why?
Thank you.

One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob
posted Hide Post
I've been reloading for 55 years now. Without a doubt, wet tumbling with a stainless steel media
cannot be beat.

Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club
NRA Endowment Member
President NM MILSURPS

Posts: 442 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: 28 March 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
Don't waste money on ultra sonic

Posts: 7360 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Ted, ok, but why not??

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
It doesn't hold a candle to wet tumbling with pins

Posts: 7360 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Exactly what Rapidrob and Ted Thorn said. I've used traditional vibratory cleaners with walnut and corn cob media for years. Switched to Ultrasonic and finally to wet media with stainless steel pins.

Wet media with stainless steel pins beats them all. I decap all my brass, then run it in big batches. Cleans the whole case, inside and out including the primer pocket. Let em dry and you're good to go.

Don't mix brass of different pistol calibers together. Once I tumbled 44 magnum and 10mm brass together. Almost every 44 case had a 10mm case stuck inside of it. I use 1 drop of dawn dishwashing liquid and 1/4 teaspoon of lemishine for each batch of 500 cases.

Posts: 444 | Location: North Pole, Alaska | Registered: 28 April 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Great information, thank you. I have been focusing on ultrasonic, so this is very helpful.