New
Find
Notify
Tools

.505 Gibbs hangfire/misfire
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am trying to work up hunting loads for my .505 Gibbs and am having a problem with hangfire/misfires on about 40% of the cartridges.
I've been reloading since 1978, load for about 25 different guns and this is the first time I've had a problem like this I can't resolve. I suspect the CCI Magnum primers just aren't hot enough since the broken down loads show clumps of powder, some with a "scorched" appearance. I've always heard that Federal 215M primers are "hotter" but they seem to be as elusive as unicorns. No one I've visited or called in North Texas has any and the real gun shops (as opposed to Cabela's, Bass Pro, Academy, etc.)say these primers have been backordered for several months.
So...any ideas from those of you that have experience with this caliber? Primers? Powder? Dumbassness? I've tried these powders: RL 22, RL 25, H1000, IMR 7828 and IMR 7828ssc. All with Barnes 525 gr or A-Square 525 gr bullets. I welcome any and all comment or suggestions.

Karl Evans

Posts: 2723 | Location: Emhouse, Tx | Registered: 03 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Are you using a load which fills the case to the base of the bullet? It sounds as though you might have a good deal of air space. I have used loads around 145 grains of H4831, which produce velocities around 2150 fps using a 570 grain bullet, with no such difficulties.

One of Us
Picture of MJines
posted Hide Post
The case for the Gibbs is so large virtually any load will require a filler . . . either poly or a foam wad. Are you using any filler Karl?

My load data shows that I was using 106-108 grains of RL15 with 600 grain Woodleighs and used 5 grains of poly.

Mike

Posts: 21091 | Registered: 03 January 2006Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post