New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brass monos
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Are the brass bullets harder on rifle bores? Most seem to be undersized. Why? Some manufacturers suggest you completely clean a bore before using..why? Appreciate any other comments. Thanks

Posts: 1312 | Location: MN and ND | Registered: 11 June 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
SHORT ANSWER: Bullets don't kill barrels, hot gases and cleaning rods do.

LONG ANSWER: The newer Monos (like Barnes) have relief rings designed into them for the purpose of decreasing bearing surface contact to lower pressures and reduce fouling. I have been shooting them for over 15 years now and have not noticed increased barrel wear. In fact, the copper used to make Barnes bullets is normally softer than the jackets on lead-core ammo.

Excessive barrel wear normally occurs from:
1) Shooting high velocity rounds. Velocity = Wear.
2) Improper cleaning / maintenance.
3) Poorly manufactured / finished barrel.

On the cleaning issue between brands; yes, always clean out ALL copper fouling before switching bullet brands. Barnes, Hornady, Swift, etc. all use slightly different proprietary alloys to make their bullets. You do not want to foul a gilding metal GMX bullet or traditional jacketed bullet over Barnes fouling that is already in the barrel; dissimilar metals in the barrel do not play well together. I have notice huge improvements in accuracy after completely scrubbing barrels clean before switching to Barnes.

One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob
posted Hide Post
No they do not. In WWI the French used SOLID Bronze bullets in their 8mm Lebel rifles I believe were called Balle D. The bullets were lathe turned.
I have shot these bullets. I have shot these bullets and are they not only accurate they hit very hard. The bore was very clean aftwards.

Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club
NRA Endowment Member
President NM MILSURPS

Posts: 443 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: 28 March 2013Reply With Quote
one of us