New
Find
Notify
Tools

newbie question
 Login/Join

posted
Hi all,
I'm new to reloading and have some questions. Found your site with Google. I am reloading for .243 and have my first 3 rounds with the bullet seated too deeply (the load should be 2.680" according to the manual and they are 2.558", 2.597" and 2.675"). The load is 40.5 grains of IMR4831 under a 90 grain Nosler Accubond with Winchester brass and Federal primer. Is it dangerous to shoot the loads with bullets seated too deeply? Will it adversely affect the pressure? This load is the beginning point in the Nosler manual (4 grains away from MAX).

Thanks for your help,
kstockfo

One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
oldIf what you say is correct, you have no problem from over pressure. beerroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob
posted Hide Post
No problem. Accuracy may be effected just a little due to the "jump" further into the origin of the rifling.

Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club
NRA Endowment Member
President NM MILSURPS

Posts: 443 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: 28 March 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Affected.
You need to invest in a bullet puller; the inertia kind works well.
In most cases, instances, there will be no problems though. And in your case, no problem.

Posts: 17095 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MyNameIsEarl
posted Hide Post
What everyone else said. I have forget to reset my seating die before and seated to deep. Instead of pulling the bullet I just used it as a fowler round. At the depths you are talking no it should not create a pressure issue. Going to deep can sometimes.

Posts: 749 | Location: Camp Verde, AZ | Registered: 05 February 2006Reply With Quote