Find
Notify
Tools

Gas check warning for rifle cast bullets
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of 450 Fuller
posted
This happened to me and my riflesmith confirmed it.
He knew of it happening with a Pattern 17 Enfield
also in New Mexico. It involves the GCheck dislodging
and falling on top of the powder charge during the seating or later. Even with "crimped" supposed Gchecks.
My pre-64 M-70 in 338-06 developed probably close to 75-80K PSI and I had to replace the extractor. I was lucky that no more damage was done to the rifle.
With straight wall cases or the 30-40 Krag-the neck is long enough to keep the GC in the neck area rather than over powder in the case. It CAN happen and DID happen to me.It will not happen again. I have been handloading carefully for 50 years.
This has NOT happened again because I have found that GCs are not needed on my Sharps or 1885 HiWall rifles. Or anything else that is bottlenecked. There are safer ways for me to shoot economically.

Not trying to convince anyone. There will be doubters. Don't need to prove it-Been there and so has my gunsmith with others. Not all venomous snakes rattle, and I don't go to Las Vegas or the range to gamble.Just tellin the tale.

Posts: 353 | Location: Between Alaska and Gulf of Mexico | Registered: 22 December 2017Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am not arguing, but would love to understand the reason for the increase in pressure.

I would have assumed that the gas check would just get blown out the muzzle like a wad?

Posts: 458 | Location: South Africa | Registered: 28 April 2020Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Interesting.

But how do you know it happened that way.

Posts: 19314 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post