New
Find
Notify
Tools

Does Anyone Seal Primers?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been reloading for over 30 years and have never sealed a primer. I understand that the military does it because of battlefield conditions and long term storage. Do any of you seal primers? If so, what do you use? Are there any cautions that apply?

Thanks.

Posts: 188 | Location: South Dakota, USA | Registered: 10 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Only for my SCUBA loads. And, I use the cheapest red fingernail polish I can find.

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
ricciardelli,

Thanks for the reply. I really enjoyed your website. Great history and lots of lessons learned which I likewise experienced. I will give the nail polish a try.

Thanks.

Posts: 188 | Location: South Dakota, USA | Registered: 10 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
What is it that you would hope to accomplish by sealing primers that you have so far been unable to accomplish in 30 years of reloading?

Posts: 13214 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
My wife had a bunch of old purple nail polish she never uses.....sooooo, I am stuck with the purple. I usually seal only my hunting ammo, in case I accidentally drop it in the creek or the swamp near my blind.

Posts: 5184 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 06 August 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Stonecreek,

Long term storage. I am finding that I have loaded shells that didn't get used for many years. Mostly because I forget which box they are in. Of course you are right. It would be better to just put the stuff in an ammo can and label it.

Henly, Texas! I had forgotten about Henly, Texas. Do you happen to know the Reimers next door to the Old Hamilton Pool? (They used to own it before it was made into a park). Very old friends.

One of Us