New
Find
Notify
Tools

22-250 load question
 Login/Join

<Matt Quigley>
posted
I am just starting out reloading. For background I am shooting a Savage 12VSS that will group .257 with Federal Premier in 55gr.
The 12VSS has a 26" 1-12 twist Stainless barrel.

I have begun reloading 55gr Speer Spitzers with 38gr of H380 powder w/ CCI Magnum primers as recommended in Volume 13 of the Speer Reloading manual.

Any suggestions, tips or cautions from more experienced reloaders?

------------------
Shoot straight, group tight!

one of us
posted Hide Post
I've always had inconsistancies with H-380, although others swear by it. My most reliable loads with .22-250 have been with 35.5 grains of H4895 and a 55 grain bullet. IMR 4064 and VV135 are also good performers. If you like sperical powders, you might find H-414 superior to H380.

With the .22-250, you're aready getting 300 to 400 FPS more than with a .223, so my advice is don't trade extra velocity for less accuracy.

[This message has been edited by Stonecreek (edited 06-22-2001).]

Posts: 13216 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Matt: I would have to agree completely with Stonecreek. I have tried about every feasible powder in the 22-250 and keep coming back to H 4895.

A load of 35.5 grains of H 4895 behind a 55 grain spitzer is a classic 22-250 load that has worked well in a number of rifles that I have tested. I would suggest you try this combination for sure.

The next BIG variable is of course the bullets you might try. Your gun may like the Speers, or it might do better with Sierra's or Hornady's or Nosler's. You will just have to experiment here. It sounds like you will be hard pressed to beat the accuracy you are getting with the factory loadings.