New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Squirrel Hunting
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
When you say ground squirrels are you talking Chipmonks? I'm not sure but I think they are a protected species. If your talking about the ground squirrels out west then I don't have much experiance with them. Get a good .22 with a nice scope and I would highly reccomend using regular CCI high speed hollow points. No need for the more expensive and louder "stinger" type shells. Get a good "rest"......like a stump or tree and just enjoy being out in the sun. For a good .22 for this kind of work you can't beat a marlin 39a. Just a classic rifle. Have fun! FNMauser

Posts: 170 | Location: Kentucky U.S.A. " The land that is dark with blood" | Registered: 31 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of reloaderman
posted Hide Post
Quote:

Hello,

I'm thinking of hunting ground squirrels with a .22 rifle on a private farm. I've never done that before; anyone have any tips on how to do that? Any advice appreciated. Thx.

Sit quietly under a tree and make a sound like a nut!

Posts: 707 | Location: West Texas,USA | Registered: 20 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Quote:

When you say ground squirrels are you talking Chipmonks? I'm not sure but I think they are a protected species.

Yes, they are protected as long as they are in the monastery.

Sorry, couldn't help it.

Posts: 7570 | Location: Arizona and off grid in CO | Registered: 28 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post