New
Find
Notify
Tools

25 WSSM
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I purchased a Browning A-Bolt a couple of weeks ago in 25 WSSM, and was wondering if anybody out there has one or has worked up a load.....

Posts: 199 | Location: D/FW Texas | Registered: 10 June 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
We are honored that you would come to this forum for advice Mr. MB, but there are scads of Luddites here, and we may not get around to buying one of those rockets for another 25 years or so. I have read that the cartridge approximates the 25-06 in velocity, which is to say that a .257 Roberts that is well fed is in the neighborhood as well. That is something I have some experience with, and though I cannot suggest load data I will give free advice on bullets. The 75 VMAX and/or 85 Ballistic Tip will give cats the vapors! Actually, what I meant to say is that they will vaporize a cat, magnum cum laude, if you get my drift. Maybe something around 3500 fps and they go "poof". Or is it "Whop!"? My hearing isn't what it used to be. Did that one day with an 85 BT at 400 yards or so. Even Aunt Tabby said it was a pretty fair shot.

1/4 bores and Ballistic Tips go together like marriage and attorneys. An indespensable combination!

Dan

Pres., TYHC

www.RedMist.AtDawn

Posts: 9647 | Location: Yankeetown, FL | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of N. S. Sherlock
posted Hide Post