Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

custom mould
 Login/Join

posted
I just designed a cast bullet that i want to have a mould made for. Its for a .44 mag and has a HUGE meplat (intended for deer). I am going to have my machine shop make the mould. The problem is that i dont know how much larger i should have the mould cut for. I plan on either pure lead, lead and tin alloy (1:10), and magnum shot with tin (1:10 or so). Also, can i buy die parts, like the spru cutter? I know i can buy handles, i just need the hole locations for them. I'm planning on having it made out of 6061 aluminum because we have scrape here at my shop (2x2x4 1/2). i would appreciate any suggestions and insight because this is my first time designing a mould. Thanks,

cyberhick

one of us
posted Hide Post
How big is your huge meplat?

Dan at Mountain mold is the best place to go to have your design cut. He takes care of many of those nagging little details for you and he has an on-line design program as part of his web page.

go here:

http://www.mountainmolds.com/

Posts: 386 | Registered: 30 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Sounds like a fun project, Cyber!

A lot of what you'll be doing is going to be at the bottom end of the learning curve, judging
from the questions you ask. If I were going to start such a project, I think I'd spend $15-$20
and buy a Lee mold to "reverse engineer" from Midway or eBay. That way, you could make
measurements of various alloy shrinkage rates, get an idea of how to align the blocks, etc.

You might also want to talk to folks who make custom molds to see if they could provide any
pointers. Dan at Mountain Molds (www.mountainmolds) and the folks at Lee Precision
(www.leeprecision.com) are excellent places to start, and they have lots of experience.

Posts: 300 | Location: W. New Mexico | Registered: 28 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
I vote with Oldfeller.