New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cleaning after shooting lead
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am new to shooting lead. I have only shot a few hard and soft cast bullets. I will be shooting jacketed bullets. Recommended procedures? How clean does it need to be before I can shoot jacketed bullets?

one of us
posted Hide Post
Just shoot a jacketed bullet and it will clean the lead out!

Posts: 5543 | Registered: 09 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
ddun, Savage 99's recommendation works in many cases. Sometimes, depending on how much a particular barrel leads (or doesn't), dimensions of barrel and bullets, etc. you can wind up with a layered fouling that is difficult to clean. Best to follow the old time reccomendation of completely cleaning before changing from lead to jacketed, and vice-versa. Cleaning after firing cast bullets is usually very easy, unless you have a bad case of leading. Generally, if bulets are sized correctly for the barrel and lube is up to the velocity of the load, leading is not much of a problem. Standard cleaning procedure (brass brush, solvent patches, dry patches) generally works very well. I use Hoppe's #9 or homemade Ed's Red for cleaning after firing cast bullets. Sometimes, if there is a stubborn stain I will remove it with a more powerful solvent, such as
Butch's Bore shine, my favorite solvent for jacketed bullets. Hope this helps, curmudgeon

Posts: 99 | Location: Livermore, CA, USA | Registered: 22 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
D Dunn,

You didn't say if you had leaded up a rifle or exactly what the problem (if any) existed.

Generally, if a fellow shoots conventional lead loads, that is medium to low velocity combinations with a gas check bullet, very little to NO cleaning at all is necessary.

In fact, I see it the other way around: Shooting lead bullets after a barrel has accumlated some guilding metal wash from shooting jacketed is more of a problem than changing from lead back to jacketed.