THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM CAST BULLET FORUM

Page 1 2 

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Are Aluminium Molds Better Than Other Metals??
 Login/Join

Administrator
posted
Just thinking of getting new mounds for pistol bullets and was wondering what you think?

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 66765 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of vlwtx348
posted Hide Post
I personally don't think so. I use Heavy Lyamn, Hoch, and RCBS moulds. They take longer to heat up but hold the heat better and more evenly.
Aluminum is tempting because it is so much cheaper.

Posts: 309 | Location: NE Texas | Registered: 12 February 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
They both work well. I use both. Forgot brass which I have no experience.

Dave

Posts: 2086 | Location: Seattle Washington, USA | Registered: 19 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I like steel moulds. Must run them a bit hotter. Very consistent results.
I like Hoch nose pour moulds. They made an amateur, like me, look like a pro.

IHMSA BC Provincial Champion and Perfect 40 Score, Unlimited Category, AAA Class.

Posts: 3335 | Location: Kamloops, BC | Registered: 09 November 2015Reply With Quote

Picture of Mark
posted Hide Post
In general, steel molds do most everything better except for cost.

When cared for properly, aluminum molds will last for many many years however they can be damaged through carelessness rather easily.

However, for pistol bullets the one advantage that I can see is that I do not believe that 6 cavity molds are not made in steel, only aluminum and a 6 cavity REALLY speeds up casting.

So anyway, I would pick steel over aluminum but I would also pick a 6 cavity aluminum over a 2 cavity steel.

for every hour in front of the computer you should have 3 hours outside

Posts: 7757 | Location: Between 2 rivers, Middle USA | Registered: 19 August 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us