New
Find
Notify
Tools

which method of lube sizing is best???
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am new to casting and so far am really enjoying my new hobby. The question i have is what type of lube is best? I purchased the lee lube sizer with the liquid lube that you role around in a bowl, etc. Is this a good system or is this just a good way to get started? By the way i shoot a .44 mag and purchased the 310 and 250 gr gas check molds.

Posts: 308 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 19 July 2002Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
greg,

The folks using the star push through lube/sizer seem to think it's the best unit. I haven't had the coin to buy one, but did come up with a used lyman 450. Before that, I used the Lee push through sizer, and conventional lube smeared on with a finger, with the excess wiped off by the die. It is a slow and messy way to lube, but very effective.

My 480 shoots more accurately then I do using the lyman 450, so I see no need to upgrade at this point. One advantage of the Lyman and RCBS is there is a large quantity of used size dies and top punches floating around at reasonable prices.

For lube I use a homebrew of 50/50 beeswax and moly/lithium automotive grease. For commercial lubes, I like LBT blue and Appache Blue.

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
greg p
Nice to see Ya gettin' in to this castin' hobby so good!
As far as sizin' goes, Square and fit to yer gun are what it's all about, and there are many paths that will get Ya there.
LEE push thru sizers size em as square an easy as yer gonna get. If your mold throws boolits that just fit yer cylinder throats with a little pressure Ya can squirt some LEE liquid alox on em and load em without sizin' atall, if ya can drop em thru with no resistance they are to small, if they push hard size em to your gun's cylinder throat diamiter.