New
Find
Notify
Tools

wine- a source of tin
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
i am new to this bullet casting business, and living in a small (2000 population) village in spain it is not the easiest thing in the world to locate a source of tin- even to find solder has been a bit of a struggle if you wanted more than a small reel of 22swg!

so, today, sitting at my favorite bar, having some lunch, watching the barman take the foil capsule from a bottle of wine and BINGO!!!!!!! A quick look in the barmans book of wine revealed that the foil capsules on bottles of wine are thesedays usually made of tin!!!!!!

So, bottle of wine and a few foil capules later, melting them over the gas revealed what could conceivably be tin. Bearing in mind the smallish amounts used of tin, i now know where i will be getting mine from! And having great pleasure doing it too!

Any comments welcome, please cc to my email julianmb@hotmail.com if you would be so kind.

Posts: 60 | Location: Spain | Registered: 20 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of jpb
posted Hide Post
Based on a recommendation I got years ago, I've used these seals from wine to add to lead for casting bullets. The bullets turned out fine, so I presume that the seals were indeed tin!

Obviously, each bottle contributes only a small amount of tin, but then again you don't need much to help lead fill out a mould properly.

jpb

Posts: 1006 | Location: northern Sweden | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Talk about generating interest in casting, LOL!

Posts: 1646 | Location: Euless, TX | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
If tin is what you're after, it can be found a lot easier and in more bulk in plumber's solder.

50/50 solder is 50% tin/50% lead. 95/5 solder is 95% tin/5% antimony. I use the 95/5 at a ratio of 1/20 in WWs. There's a gracious plenty tin to insure fillout in the mold and just enough antimony to add a little hardness.