New
Find
Notify
Tools

Help a kid get started casting
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have never posted over here, but I am sure there are several vets that can answer some easy questions. I've been all but kicked off of sixgunner.com by Taffin and Jim Taylor because I said it was "BS" to wait a year for a Thad Rybka holster. I didn't even spell the words out. I mentioned that I was a Federal Agent and they informed me that after a few "shoot outs" I may cool down. Anywho, I am a serious rifleman, and have had some nice ones built. I have 1 1/2 Ruger pistols that I like more than most of my guns. I have 1 1/2 pistols because I dropped one .45 LC BH 4 5/8 off to Gary Reeder in April for $400 worth of accurizing. Haven't heard of it again. Also have a Bisley .45LC and it's a blast. I think I can shoot a hangun well, but I have never come close to a 1" @ 25 yd groups. Had my throats opened and uniformed by XTARHEEL (great job for $32...if interested in his info E-mail me). Gun is improved but, still not 1". Have Bowen rear sights as well. I'd like to get into casting as the Dry Creek bullets I was using are gone and the shipping from WV is as much as the bullets.

I can get the melting pot from a co worker for free. I am researching some molds (seems like the most common question) I'd like an all around 300-325 bullet at 900 to 1200 fps, nothing earth shattering, but accuracy is paramount. I'll also listen to some ideas on what I HAVE to have to cast bullets and how much effort is needed to get started. I'll probably dump a bunch of cash into it, but don't care to.

Lastly, I am going to look at the NEI site. Brian Pearce's bullets look so good in his articles, is it hard to make them like his??

Posts: 346 | Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico | Registered: 05 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post