New
Find
Notify
Tools

Who uses borax in the melting pot?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
When I first started casting bullets there is an article in the Lyman cast bullet manual that recommends using Boric acid on the melt to seal the molten lead from the atmosphere. I had some boric acid so I used it and it worked but it left a glassy residue so when that was gone I tried 20 mule team borax and that worked also. Once the lead has melted and is fluxed just sprinkle a little on top. It puffs up and you don't have to keep cleaning the melt. This works for a bottom pour. I never tried it with a ladel.

Posts: 29 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 21 December 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Jon, I have been casting for 30+ years now never have tried the borax. I do flux with Marvelux to reduce dross. I used a 20 lbs bottom pour pot. Once the lead is up to casting temperature I add non scented cat litter on top of the lead. About 1" or so. When you put the ingots on top of the litter it will melt before it mixes with the molten lead, doesn't change temperature of the pot.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Pine sawdust is a great flux and smells nice. The finer the better, although I've got some from a planet that's works too.

Posts: 123 | Location: Wyoming | Registered: 12 February 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I used to use the Marvelux powder and still have some left over, I believe. After reading comments on the cast boolits forum on saw dust, I pulled the box from under my table saw and have used it for many years with good results. I think the carbon generated from the burnt saw dust helps also.

My issue with the Marvelux is it seemed to cause more rust after the fact.

Shoot Safe,
Mike

NRA Endowment Member
www.Marionroad.com
www.mausercentral.net

Posts: 934 | Location: Middle Georgia | Registered: 06 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of NormanConquest
posted Hide Post