Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

sources for lead
 Login/Join

posted
I KNOW THIS IS PROBABLY LIKE ASKING WHERE SOMEONES FAVORITE FISHING HOLE IS LOCATED, BUT IM NEW TO BULLET CASTING {SANTA BROUGHT ME A LEE PRODUCTION POT AND ACCY.} WHERE DOES ONE FIND SOURCES FOR SCRAP LEAD IN MIDDLE TENNESSEE, AND WHAT SHOULD I EXPECT TO PAY?

Posts: 1 | Location: middle tn | Registered: 08 January 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of boondocker
posted Hide Post
Hi Rangeryder

I don"t know about Tennesee but usually tire shops and garages are a good source for wheel weights. Some will give then to you and others my want arount 10.00 a 5 gallon bucket. If they give them to you to save a hazmat fee dont forget to drop off a box of donuts. Scrap yards also have them. If you are casting muzzle loader ball you want soft lead like old lead pipe or telephone cable sheathing ussually at the scrap yard. Another good source is the berm at the outside ranges. Hope this helps. Boon

Posts: 647 | Location: Pa | Registered: 05 January 2003Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
I second the suggestion of tire stores, guess the cost of living is higher up here as I've had to pay $20/bucket, and now that shop no longer sells them.

I've also found my wife has a better chance of getting them for free then I do [Big Grin]

A 5 gallon bucket of wheelweights, after you filter out the old valve stems, lug nuts and cigarett butts, melt down and skim off the tire clips, you end up with about 100#'s in ingots.

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
How close are to Murfreesboro?

WC

Posts: 407 | Location: middle Tennessee | Registered: 24 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post