Find
Notify
Tools

Please help - wheel weights
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Nakihunter
posted

I am new to casting. I need lead bullet for 470 NE double rifle - practice ammo.

I just started sorting out 26 kg of wheel weights I have had sitting around for many years.

The questions I have are
1. Is it ok to use these despite all the rust from the steel clips? I am assuming that the rust will just float along with the other slag and can be skimmed off.
2. The second photo is one weight I found that was harder than the rest and when trying to cut & twist the clip off, it snapped. The inside is a lot more shiny compared to the others which are a dull grey colour. Is this zinc?

I am reading a lot and checking youtube etc.

I realise that I need to avoid zinc contamination. On the other hand I also reliase that I can keep the temperature around 400 C and the zinc will not melt but just float on top of the lead. Youtube is so useful for practical stuff like this.

I would appreciate any comments.

"When the wind stops....start rowing. When the wind starts, get the sail up quick."

Posts: 11005 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 02 July 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of eagle27
posted Hide Post
Lucky you to have a bucket of WWs. Your Lyman Cast Bullet manual will explain it all but when melting down that lead make sure you do flux properly before skimming to keep the antimony and tin in the mix and only skim off the slag and other impurities.
As I understand it, getting zinc in the casting pot should be avoided at all cost so carefully sorting and discarding anything that is not a true lead wheel weight is important. Just not worth contaminating your pot or good lead alloy with zinc etc.

Better to do an initial melt, flux and skim with those old weights in a cast or steel bowl and keep your casting pot for the clean alloy. The old lead/antimony WW is reasonable soft and can be bent by hand if a longer one or hammered out of shape without snapping.