New
Find
Notify
Tools

Back In Business
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Well, winds were right and went for a sit at the place I've been hunting hogs for 10+ years. Was in the seat and following a baseball game on the phone when the shooting started. 5 shots and what I thought was 2 hits--and a couple of ricochets. Texted the landowner and it was him. I hadn't remembered to tell him I was coming out. He was most apologetic--WTH? It's his place. He told me to go hunt the riverbottom pecan orchard if I wanted to, and after a short stroll to check around the trap with nothing but skunks and 'coons around, I drove to the spot along the highway that divides the place and scanned the bottom--lots of cows but no hogs. Sat there a few minutes and rescanned and picked up a bunch of them coming thru the fence from the west, so I turned around and parked just inside the gate, about a 1/4 mile from the hogs. Got out and grabbed the shooting sticks and started towards them working the wind. Finally got within shooting range and hammered a medium-large one. Hit the ground, then got up and started running. Shot twice more with one hit before it disappeared into the brush. Walked over towards the brush so I could scan to see if it had dropped in the brush when I noticed another one walking towards me. So I set up the sticks, and popped it. Down, flopping around, then up and flopping down again, then finally down for good. Hefty sow with some buns in the oven but I didn't explore to see how many. Dragged her to the river and dumped her--and headed home. One lesson learned-don't wear shorts and walk through the pasture with lots of nettles and thistles growing.

An old pilot, not a bold pilot, aka "the pig murdering fool"

one of us
Picture of Bobby Tomek
posted Hide Post
Nice!

Did you find that first hog?

Got this boar around 2 a.m.. Had no help at that time, so pardon the photos.