THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM OPTICS FORUM

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why so little chat about Leica rifle scopes?
 Login/Join

posted
I've been a professional photographer for over 26 years and a Leica camera owner off and on for about 30 years. In the photo world Leica is spoken about in hushed tones, with great reverence. I recently had an opportunity to buy a Leica ER 3.5-14x42 IBS for an exceptional price. I jumped at it, without even thinking about it. I love it and I still feel it was a "no brainer" decision. Since that decision though, I have come to find that very, very few people use Leica scopes, but many people use other premium brands like S&B, Swarovski and Nightforce.

Why so little Leica love out there?

Posts: 8 | Location: Alberta, Canada | Registered: 29 January 2015Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
They do not offer anything better than anyone else.

And their prices are quite high.

I am a firm believer that Leupold makes the best scopes for the money.

I have scopes from all the makers you mention, and I prefer to use Leupolds on my own hunting rifles.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 66909 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Not sure Leica markets their products as strongly as Swar or Zeiss. S&B does not market as aggressively either.
Marketing sells. In the hunting world these days, the latest gimmick quickly draws interest.
I agree with Saeed. Leupold makes very good scopes. Their VX-6 line is exceptional.

Posts: 3256 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 January 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grenadier
posted Hide Post
Leica has always led the world in optics quality. They made riflescopes for years but got out of that market for decades. Then, several years ago, Leica riflescopes re-entered the market in North America. The reception was lukewarm.