THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM MODERN MILITARY RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Modern Military Rifles    Buy a complete AR 15, or assemble from Kit?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Buy a complete AR 15, or assemble from Kit?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been agonizing over this project for several weeks now. I'd really like an AR-15 type rifle with a flat-top receiver, floated 22"-24" stainless barrel, detachable mag, and a SWEET trigger.
Should I just buy an assembled rifle, or buy a complete post-ban lower reciever and an upper with the features I want? I'm guessing I'd have to spend well over $1.3K for a whole new rifle. What could I be spending if I buy upper and lower kits?.
I'm new to AR-15s, so my next question would be; are most of the big name uppers and lowers an exact match/fit? I'm talking DPMS, Olympic Arms, Bushmaster etc. There seem to be so many options and so many parts available I'm getting a little confused. Any "clinical pearls" will be greatly appreciated.

Posts: 2497 | Location: Pacific Northwest | Registered: 21 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of pdhntr1
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Albatross:
I've been agonizing over this project for several weeks now. I'd really like an AR-15 type rifle with a flat-top receiver, floated 22"-24" stainless barrel, detachable mag, and a SWEET trigger.

There are lots of these. However, the trigger that is supplied by the manufacturer may not be what you want. It is not a big deal to upgrade the trigger. Usually two pins are removed and you replace the trigger. Some manufacturers will also upgrade the trigger on request.

Should I just buy an assembled rifle, or buy a complete post-ban lower reciever and an upper with the features I want? I'm guessing I'd have to spend well over $1.3K for a whole new rifle. What could I be spending if I buy upper and lower kits?.