Find
Notify
Tools

Newbie Questions
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hi guys,
I am new to bowhunting and just bought a Parker bowhunter compound bow with all the accessories. After a few practice sessions, here are some questions I have come up with

1-Do you hold your breath like when you shoot a rifle, or do you continue to breath lightly when waiting at full draw?

2-Should you shoot the peep sight with both eyes open? I seem to shut my non-dominant eye.

3-An arrow has a miniscule crack behind the vanes, near the nock. Is it dangerous or still useful for practice?

4-Do you aim above the target, then lower the sights? This was mentioned by the guy who set me up, but seems to take longer than trying to aim at the target from the get go...

Thanks for any tips guys, just want to start off on the right foot!
Gabe

Posts: 2359 | Location: London | Registered: 31 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of bluetick
posted Hide Post
1- You better breath or you will pass out and fall out of your stand and break your neck. bewildered

2- Both eyes open. It's the way you should shoot a rifle or pistol also.

3- Do not shoot this arrow untill it is checked out by a pro. One easy thing to do is try and twist the arrows by gripping them at the point end and close to the fletchings. If they want to twist they are no good. With a small crack towards the nock this one arrow my still fill fine but it needs to be looked at by someone that knows what they are doing.

4- Most people do. It is because your new ultra light bow will fill like it weighs a ton if you start at the bottom of the target and try to raise the bow. Try it and you will see what I mean. It's not a noticeable on game but if you are shooting dots or even 3-D targets its a real booger.