New
Find
Notify
Tools

Broadheads
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am thinking about going to a cut on impact broadhead design for this fall's hunt. Right now I shoot Muzzy 100g. 3 blades, and was contemplating on going with a Steelforce or Magnus. Any thoughts on these types of broadheads?

MG

One of Us
Picture of ManCannon
posted Hide Post
Broadhead opinions are like assholes... Everybody has one Big Grin But in all seriousness, the Steelforce and Magnus heads are good. I've contemplated using them also, but I've strayed away due to the possibility of bending the blade over on a heavy bone. I've poured through damn near every broadhead that I can find, and the one I always come back to is the Razorcap. I'm a mechanical engineer, so I know a bit about materials and design, and the Razorcap is truly nearing the pinnacle of broadhead design. The G5 Montec is also a good cut-on-contact design, but the powdered sintered metal molding design gives me an uneasy feeling, especially at temperatures lower than 20 degrees. thumb

"The atomic bomb made the prospect of future war unendurable. It has led us up those last few steps to the mountain pass; and beyond there is a different country." - J. Robert Oppenheimer

Posts: 385 | Location: Midwestern Corn Desert | Registered: 13 November 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The Razorcaps look like a well made broadhead for sure. Would definitely be good for compound bows. (I shoot recurve) so the cutouts in the blades will whistle like crazy. I've been having a hard time finding solid broadheads. I've settled on the Del-Ma broadheads. (figure I'll give them a try).

mike

Posts: 180 | Location: Bremerton, Wa | Registered: 23 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ManCannon: I've contemplated using them also, but I've strayed away due to the possibility of bending the blade over on a heavy bone.