Find
Notify
Tools

Black Widow???
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Uglystick
posted
Hey everyone, I have been shooting a compound for 4 years. I love it and hunt with it well.

I HAVE BEEN BITTEN BY THE RECURVE BUG BAD!!! Mad

This spring during bear season a group of recurve hunters came up and a few of them let me shoot their bows. I was suprised at how well I could shoot without sights using the instictive method (only 10 yards, I did not want to loose anyones arrow) A few guys had widdows and I fell in love with them.

I am thinking about a PMA II
ANY SUGGESTIONS FROM WIDDOW OWNERS???

Thanks

Posts: 173 | Location: Jackman MAINE USA | Registered: 29 July 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't shoot a widow--but you can't go wrong with them. A lot of guys poo-poo them, probably the same people that don't like chevy over dodge etc. One thing a widow is heavy, it makes them a pain to carry but they are very stable when you shoot them. Hoyt makes some fine shooting bows too, fugly but good shooters.

the chef

One of Us
Picture of 300magman
posted Hide Post
Black Widow is a beautiful bow. Check out Mathews, they make a new longbow and recurvre.

Posts: 323 | Location: Jackson, Miss | Registered: 12 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
There are dozens of quality makers, of which Black Widow is but one. Be sure to shop around enough to know whether you are bitten by the recurve bug or the Black Widow brand recurve bug.

one of us
posted Hide Post
i have shot many and i mean many traditional bows

great plain bow compana from pampa tx makes a superior bow to black widow and at a cheaper price...not by much mind you....

and my favortie long bow is the howard hill westley special 5 laminates with a babinga riser at 90 pounds. and a elk hide handle.

Posts: 2095 | Location: B.C | Registered: 31 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post