Find
Notify
Tools

Fixed or mechanical?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
What are your thoughts?

Posts: 11904 | Location: Orlando, FL | Registered: 26 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of thecanadian
posted Hide Post
stir

"though the will of the majority is in all cases to prevail, that will to be rightful must be reasonable; that the minority possess their equal rights, which equal law must protect, and to violate would be oppression."

---Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 1085 | Location: Eau Claire, WI | Registered: 20 January 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It is a serious question on my part. I have little experience with a bow. I have not been happy with the blood trails I have obtained. Granted some were in difficult situations (sand and/or rain). Some went short distances (20-30 yards. Others went as far as 150. All with well placed shots.

Posts: 11904 | Location: Orlando, FL | Registered: 26 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Larry, I will state up front that I am old school. That said, I like fixed blades.
I've been shooting slick tricks with no complaints. Your experiences do not sound out of the ordinary.
The bow will never give you an instant drop unless it's a spine shot.

Posts: 212 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 24 November 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
easy answer: they are illegal, as are lighted nocks, here in Idaho.

Posts: 23062 | Location: SW Idaho | Registered: 19 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm lucky in that I get to hunt with a friend who has some high quality deer on his place. He has hunted with a bow since he was in his teens and tried most of what has hit the market through the years.

I have only been at it for about a decade, but I respect his opinion and the vast collection of broadheads he has used over the years tells me he knows a little something about what he's talking about.