New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Archery Newbie
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Penny, I just got back into Archery myself after about 25 years off. Shoulder injuries made it impossible to pull one. Yesterday I aquired a used Mathews Featherlight and transfered all of my parts from my sisters old HoytMate to the Mathews. I too have been enjoying the informal practice in the back yard and now have 2 good friends that have joined in on the fun.
Last spring I went to a couple of 3D shoots about 5 hours drive from here and sort of got rebit by the bug at that time.
It is some fun, isn't it. derf

Posts: 3450 | Location: Aldergrove,BC,Canada | Registered: 22 February 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
That's good news, BRF, hope it works out same for me. I've had a lot of physical jobs, too. For one, i worked as a welder at Grove Mfg Co in Shady Grove, PA? You might have heard of it, not too far from Harper's Ferry.

Plinker

Posts: 1522 | Location: WV | Registered: 24 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Quote:

It has turned out that I actually have a Feather Max which was a much more popular bow and a better grade.

Sounds like a good bow, Derf. Several people at the indoor range are partial to Matthews bows.

The white nailhead idea sounds ideal for being able to mow over the markers. I used lengths of rebar, but bent and welded so as to be able to have place to hang the bow. Can't mow around but i use Round up around mowing obstacles, anyway.

Never heard of beaverboard. Someone was saying that old rubber conveyor belts make good backboard stops. Sometimes you can find it laying around at the gravel yard.

Plinker

one of us
posted Hide Post