Notify
Tools

Recurve Arrow Spine
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of BlackHawk1
posted
Hi ya'll,

I'm getting the itch to try wooden arrows for my recurve bows. I'm looking for advice for two of my bows, a 45# GreatTree Deerslayer and a 50# Bear Grizzly. I have a 28.5" draw and will be looking at probably a 30" shaft (I don't want an arrow slipping off the shelf and slicing my hand). I'm looking for a quality "arrow smith" to make up some for me, particularly the Grizzly. I'm looking at using 150+ gr broadheads such as Magnus Snuffers, or Woodsman Original or Elites. What diameter shaft should I use and what should the spine be with 5" fletching? I'm a newbie when it comes to traditional, so no flaming please. Thanks.

BH1

There are no flies on 6.5s!

Posts: 707 | Location: Nebraska | Registered: 23 December 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BaxterB
posted Hide Post
That's a real tough question to answer without shooting a few. With a 30 inch shaft and 150gr head you'll need stiff spine since both of those factors weaken a shaft. Easton says about a .400 deflection, which is a 2117 for your #50 Grizzly. That is the arrow I use but I shoot #58 and a 28.25" arrow with about 145 up front.

Other things affect spine too, like degree of centershot, release etc. I would try to find someone local to you and maybe try a few arrows. Stickbow.com and tradgang.com are two great sites for hooking up with other trad shooters. I'm on both.

Finding spine can be a bit of voodoo, and trial and error (to a degree) seems to the be the experience of everyone I know who shoots recurves.

Good luck.