Notify
Tools

Need your help,,,,,,,
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hey guyz-

I need some advice......

I'm contemplating bow-hunting for the first-time.....

For one reason only.....

A friend of mine says I can hunt for wild boar on his private property......

But ONLY with a BOW......

I am a newbie to hunting and I just went on my first-ever hunt with great success..... Check out my post on the GENERAL BIG GAME FORUM here....

Anyways, I will always use my weapon of choice, a rifle when hunting all other game in the field.

But this opportunity arose several days ago with this friend who says he doesn't mind me coming there for boar hunting, but I have to use a bow, because of neighbors who might be startled by gunshots. I said no problem!

To my amazement after doing a GOOGLE search, Wow, there's a whole lot of variations in manufacturers, models, add-ons, etc.

And the prices are incredible, but they look darn worth it......

Here's my problem!

I really don't want to invest in an expensive top-of-the-line model bow, since I will only be using this for small-time boar hunting, once in awhile......

I got my $$$$ wrapped up in rifle hunting opportunities......

But I still want to recreational hunt for pig meat at my friends property occassionally.....

Here's the scenario of my hunt....

I'll be setting-up a blind with-in 30-35 yards
of a variety of fruit trees. These pigs come down out of a near-by mountain to eat the fallen fruits every evening like clock work. My friend said this has not changed for the past 35 years.

I can taste the sweetness of these pigs already!

My problem......

I don't know what type of inexpensive bow to buy?

I don't want anything fancy, but I do want it to be pleasureable to practice often with, and strong enough to take the intended game. They average maximum 60 to 80 or so pounds,according to his estimation.....

What type of bow should I consider?

I am 5' 11" tall and medium build; got any suggestions?